Scenes from the Clark Park Farmers Market

I feel grateful to have lived near some incredible farmers markets in my life. Growing up in Los Angeles, I remember going with my mom to the Hollywood Farmers Market every Sunday. We spent the morning meandering through dozens of booths, selling everything from freshly picked strawberries to steaming corn tamales. During my college years at Cornell, the Ithaca Farmers Market held a special place in my heart. Just thinking about it makes me crave a latte from Gimme! Coffee and spicy chicken curry from my favorite Cambodian food stand. More recently, I was a loyal customer of the Dupont Circle Farmers Market, where Dolcezza Gelato and Toigo Orchards were my guilty pleasures.

And now, after having spent a month in Philly, I’m happy to say that I’ve found my go-to farmers market. Located on 43rd Street and Baltimore Avenue, the Clark Park Farmers Market is a gastronomic oasis for West Philly residents and Penn students and professors. Farmers and local vendors congregate in the park on Saturday mornings from 10a-2p and Thursday afternoons from 3p-7p (May-Nov; the market only opens on Saturday mornings from 10a-1p in the winter months).

There’s tons of fresh produce ranging from gorgeous swiss chard to butternut squash to apples galore. Amish farmers also sell their infamous baked goods, including whoopie pies (apparently a staple dessert in Philly), bread, and fresh fruit pies. Perhaps best of all, the prices at the market are very reasonable and for those in need, they accept food stamps as well.

But why tell you how fabulous this farmers market is…when I can just show you? Here are some photos from the past few weeks:

Head over to the Clark Park Farmers Market on Thursdays from 3-7 p.m. and Saturdays from 10 a.m.-1 p.m.! (And check the website for winter hours starting in November.)

Share

One response to “Scenes from the Clark Park Farmers Market

  1. Pingback: Peter’s Gourmade Grill: A Real Gastropub | The Unpaid Gourmet

Leave a Reply

